Jobs in criminal justice?

Jobs in criminal justice?

Postby mpickett3 » February 11th, 2011, 5:32 pm

I have been a medical assistant for years(got my TC from Ivy Tech). But I am a returning student. I have thought about Paralegal Studies, but it just doesn't seem right for me. I have always wanted to work with families or youth.
Will the A.A.S in Criminal Justice/Youth concentration get me a job as a social worker or in a probation office? I thought to be a probation officer or social worker you had to hold a BA. I thought maybe someone out there is in this program and knows the answer. Thanks much
mpickett3
Private

Postby MaGna720 » February 13th, 2011, 2:27 am

I think you might find this to be of some assistance. http://www.ivytech.edu/criminaljustice/ ... thway.html
MaGna720
Corporal

Region: Central Indiana

Re: Jobs in criminal justice?

Postby fwacfred » March 4th, 2011, 12:43 pm

mpickett3 wrote:I have been a medical assistant for years(got my TC from Ivy Tech). But I am a returning student. I have thought about Paralegal Studies, but it just doesn't seem right for me. I have always wanted to work with families or youth.
Will the A.A.S in Criminal Justice/Youth concentration get me a job as a social worker or in a probation office? I thought to be a probation officer or social worker you had to hold a BA. I thought maybe someone out there is in this program and knows the answer. Thanks much

Most social worker or probation officer positions require a 4yr. degree. There are other positions like youth care worker (juvenile justice center) or (youth services center). You may be able to get a foot in the door working for a non-profit social service agency of some sort and get some experience while working towards your Bachelor's degree.
fwacfred
Private

Postby sskinner » June 2nd, 2011, 9:43 am